Australia Awards Scholarships

Australia Awards provide Papua New Guineans with the opportunity to study in Australia and obtain tertiary qualifications from Australian Institutions.

Australia Awards aims to further develop the skills and expertise of Papua New Guineans so they can contribute to Papua New Guinea’s development. They are prestigious awards offered by the Australian Government to Papua New Guinea’s existing and future leaders. Through study and research, recipients develop the knowledge and skills to drive change, influence Papua New Guinea’s development and build enduring people-to-people links with Australia.

Thank you for your interest in Australia Awards Scholarships.

Intake 2020
Intake 2020 scholarship applications will open on 1 February 2019.
Information about the Intake 2020 application process will be posted on our website in January 2019.

Our targets
Australia Awards Scholarships target to mid-career Papua New Guinean professionals with at least two years of relevant professional experience.

We target priority sectors:

  • Agriculture
  • Education
  • Health
  • Governance
  • Law and Justice
  • Transport and Infrastructure
  • Gender Equality, Disability and Social Inclusion

All public servants must comply with the Government of Papua New Guinea training bid process, as outlined in the General Orders, before being considered for an Australia Award.
Women, people living with disability and people living in rural locations are encouraged to apply. The scholarship program is highly competitive, and selection is undertaken on a merit basis.

Prepare early

Applicants are encouraged to prepare for their application early by considering the following essential aspects of the application:

  • Every applicant needs to list two course preferences on their application – including the correct course names, correct institution names and correct CRICOS codes. Applicants are encouraged to research course options using the Commonwealth Register of Institutions and Courses for Overseas Students (CRICOS) website. This website allows you to search for courses, institutions and CRICOS codes.
  • Every applicant is required to attach a copy of valid identity documents to their application. To comply with requirements – this should be a copy of a current National Identity Card plus a copy of a birth certificate, or a current passport (dates not expired).  Failure to attach valid ID will result in a noncompliant application.
  • Every applicant is required to attach a copy of their relevant certified academic certificate/s and transcript/s. These must be certified (signed, stamped and dated) by a Commissioner of Oaths within the last two years.
  • If shortlisted in the top 200 applications, applicants are required to sit an International English language Testing System (IELTS) general exam. Applicants are encouraged to prepare for this test by using the free practice tests available online.

Please continue to monitor our website to stay informed about the program. We look forward to receiving your application after 1 February 2019.


Poruan Temu recenly completed his Master of Information Technology at the University of Queensland

"I believe that it is very important that our country has qualified, specialist Papua New Guineans, who can make informed decisions on how best to utilise modern technology to deliver effective healthcare to those who need it most. I plan to use the new skills and knowledge that I will gain from my Master’s program to pioneer E-healthcare in Papua New Guinea. "